Theme: Spirituality and Excellence in Math and Science: Working Together for Holistic Growth and Sustainable Development

Close your eyes and imagine yourself standing in front of a huge mosaic in a museum. Now, I can’t possibly know what you’d say about it, because we all look at things differently  Some would immediately say “Oh, it’s so beautiful! I love it!”, while others would complain about it being too bright. Sometimes, we see people trying to find its pattern. We see them trying to find the hidden picture — the hidden image behind it. But, most of the time, we find people criticizing it and say, “I bet I could make something better than this”, or “It needs improvement.”

This is how people look at our world nowadays. Some like it just the way it is. Some complain about it not being enough. Some wonder and search for answers to why and how. But, right now, most of us think we can improve what God made. I’m not saying that it’s not good to test our limits. Just look around you. What do you see? Computers, cars, televisions, cellphones, iPads! Yes, these things make our lives easier.

But, I’ve noticed that the more “improvement” going on in our world, the more that our Spiritual beliefs begin to sway. I mean, what’s with the “Science and Religion don’t go together” thing? That’s not true.

We’re Paulinians. We believe that Science and Religion actually complete each other.

How?

God made all of us, that’s what the Bible says.

Scientists, though, found the nerve to counter that by saying, “we came from apes, not God.”

Are they already so blinded by their ignorance that they cannot see what I, a fourteen year old student, can see? Can’t they see that what they are saying can actually support the words written in the Bible?

The Word isn’t supposed to be taken so literally, like what people these days are doing.

Yes, God did create us. But how? That, my friends, is where science comes in. See? They are in this together.

Without Science, we’d never know how God made the world work. Without God, we’d always have a question in our minds : “why?

You see what I’m getting at, here? These two are not rivals. If one of the two goes missing, deep inside, we’d feel like Romeo without his Juliet. Like rock and roll without drums. Like an Oreo cookie without its cream filling. We’d feel empty. We’d feel incomplete.

This is why I’m proud to call myself a Paulinian. Our teachers don’t tell us that the world would be less complicated without scientists who question everything. They tell us what I am telling you now. They tell us that, with these two combined, we’d be the happiest people alive. They help us deepen our faith in God and, at the same time, help us find ways on how to change our world for the better.

“One step at a time, darling. That’s right. Slowly but surely,” my dad used to tell me. I was young, so I never really read in between those lines. But now I know. I know that he was not only teaching me how to walk. He was also telling me how I can change the world. How we can change the world.

Yes, we’re just kids. We’re still studying. But, boy, studying is one more step for us. With Science, we’d know what makes the world go round. And, with Religion, we’d know the answer to the why that’s always in our minds.

Slowly but surely. What’s with the need to rush? You don’t have to worry about people not wanting to join you. With God by our side, we can inspire them to make the years they have left, worth it.

You don’t have to be white. You don’t have to be rich. You don’t need to be an adult. You don’t even have to wear clothes! Knowledge and faith in God — it is all that we need.

We have one lifetime to change our ways. We have one lifetime to change our outlooks on life. We have one lifetime to open our eyes and really see the world.  We have one lifetime to make a difference.

It’s a once in a lifetime opportunity, let’s not regret our choices in the end.

We live life to be able to say, “It was worth it” when we let out our last breath. Wouldn’t you choose that over the words, “I should have…”? I’m sure I would.

Remember, it’s never too late.

